Misdemeanors in Florida

Generally speaking, a misdemeanor is any crime punishable by a year or less of incarceration. This encompasses a great many offenses, including certain traffic crimes. These cases appear in County Court, as opposed to Circuit Court. Though these crimes are generally viewed as less serious than felonies, a conviction for a misdemeanor can still derail a person’s personal and professional life. Our attorneys use our combined 35 years of experience to minimize the impact a misdemeanor charge may have on you.

Most misdemeanors are classified as First Degree Misdemeanors or Second Degree Misdemeanors, with a few special exceptions. A First Degree Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in the County Jail, and a $1,000 fine. A Second Degree Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 60 days in the County Jail and a $500 fine.

The maximum sentence has little to do with the actual sentence, though, in most cases. Things like prior record, nature of the crime, and the facts play a very significant role in the determination of sentence. More often than not, when we can’t get the charges dropped, we resolve misdemeanor cases without any incarceration or conviction.

For more on the specific crime for which you or a loved one are accused, see our list of Florida Crimes.

Our lawyers have a combined 35 years of experience defending people accused of crimes in Broward, Palm Beach, and Miami-Dade Counties. If you find yourself accused of a misdemeanor offense in South Florida, contact our office for a free consultation.